Party Branches

  • Print
  • Email

From branches in five constituencies in 1955, the PAP branch network has evolved and expanded to a total of 87 branches, serving every electoral constituency in Singapore.

Did you know?

  1. On the first anniversary of the PAP, the party had five branches, namely Tanjong Pagar, Farrer Park, Punggol-Tampines, Bukit Timah and Bukit Panjang.
  2. In the early days, each branch covered more than one constituency. For example, the Farrer Park branch looked after Kampong Kapor and Whampoa, while Bukit Timah took care of Tanglin.
  3. The first ever PAP branch in Tanjong Pagar had a branch office that measured only 18 feet by 16 feet, barely large enough to hold a conference table, with 8 long benches, 4 stools, an almirah, a bookcase, a blackboard and an old office desk.
  4. PAP branches have always been a hive of activities. In the early days, the branches conducted educational activities like classes on current affairs, Chinese, Malay and English languages. They also organised cultural activities such as group singing sessions, Chinese folk dancing, harmonica bands, the occasional picnics, concerts and film shows.

This article was first published in the July issue of Petir Magazine.

Copyright © 2016 People's Action Party. All Rights Reserved
Published by and at the directions of People's Action Party
PAP HQ, Block 57B New Upper Changi Road, #01-1402 Singapore 463057

This website is best viewed in IE 10 and above, Firefox and Chrome.